07/07/2024 01:38 PM

KUALA LUMPUR, July 7 (Bernama) -- Datuk T. Murugiah and Datuk M. Asojan, have defended their MIC vice-president posts, while Senator Datuk Dr R. Nelson emerged as the new face for the position in the election of the party's top leadership for the 2024-2027 term.

The results was announced by MIC Election Committee deputy chairman and MIC Legal Adviser Datuk M. Selva here today.

Nelson was previously a member of the Central Working Committee (CWC).

In addition, of the 44 candidates who contested for the CWC position, 21 of them were elected members for the same period.

Among those selected as CWC members were Datuk S.Tamilvanan, D.Vincent, D.Andrew, Datuk P. Kamalanathan, Datuk S.Marathamuthu, Datuk M.Karuppanan, Dr T.Novalan, G.Raman and Datuk Dr. S. Ananthan

The voting process for MIC's highest office took place at the central MIC headquarters and all states starting at 1pm, yesterday with the nomination process carried out last month.

Earlier, Tan Sri S. A. Vigneswaran and former Human Resources Minister Datuk Seri M. Saravanan successfully defended their positions as MIC president and MIC deputy president respectively after winning unopposed.

For the MIC wing positions, S. Shatesh Kumar and K. Amarveen Malairaja, respectively, won unopposed to lead Putera MIC as chief and deputy head for the term 2024-2027 while Kemelah assemblywoman N. Saraswati won Wanita MIC chief and Dr P. Thanaletchumy, the Wanita deputy head unopposed.




BERNAMA provides up-to-date authentic and comprehensive news and information which are disseminated via BERNAMA Wires; www.bernama.com; BERNAMA TV on Astro 502, unifi TV 631 and MYTV 121 channels and BERNAMA Radio on FM93.9 (Klang Valley), FM107.5 (Johor Bahru), FM107.9 (Kota Kinabalu) and FM100.9 (Kuching) frequencies.

Follow us on social media :
Facebook : @bernamaofficial, @bernamatv, @bernamaradio
Twitter : @bernama.com, @BernamaTV, @bernamaradio
Instagram : @bernamaofficial, @bernamatvofficial, @bernamaradioofficial
TikTok : @bernamaofficial

© 2024 BERNAMA   • Disclaimer   • Privacy Policy   • Security Policy