Police nab five Indonesians, solve 13 armed robbery, house break-in cases [ 29m ago ]

Six lawmakers now have no connection whatsoever with UMNO - Mohamad

Last update: 12/02/2019
Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan
SEREMBAN, Feb 12 (Bernama) -- Six lawmakers who joined Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) now have no connection whatsoever with UMNO, said UMNO deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan.

Mohamad, who is assuming the duties of UMNO president, in a statement tonight said that the decision taken by the six former UMNO leaders would not affect the agenda and survival of the party.

“The decision to join other political party after leaving UMNO is their choice completely. The party and I sincerely thanked them for all their deeds and contributions to UMNO before. I wish them all the best for their political endeavours with Bersatu,” he said.

Earlier today, Prime Minister cum Bersatu chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad announced that six former UMNO Members of Parliament have joined Bersatu.

They are Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin (Larut), Datuk Rosol Wahid (Hulu Terengganu), Datuk Dr Abdul Latiff Ahmad (Mersing), Datuk Shabudin Yahaya (Tasik Gelugor), Datuk Mohamad Fasiah Mohd Fakeh (Sabak Bernam), and Datuk Seri Ikmal Hisham Abdul Aziz (Tanah Merah).

Dr Mahathir said they were accepted into Bersatu after studying their application and having imposed the condition that they would only become ordinary members without holding any position in the party.


       Previous Top Story