17/07/2019 10:56 PM

PUTRAJAYA, July 17 (Bernama) -- The implementation of flexible working hours (FWH) in federal government agencies nationwide will take effect on Aug 1, replacing the staggered working hours (SWH).

According to Service Circular 05/ 2019 which the Public Service Department uploaded to its website today, officers may start work anytime between 7.30 am and 9 am and leave between 4.30 pm and 6 pm to complete one working day.

The time frame is applicable to all states except on Thursday for Kedah, Kelantan, Terengganu and Johor when they may choose to stop work between 3 pm and 4.30 pm.

"For example, an officer who started work at 8.07 am may leave the office at 5.07 pm," the circular stated.

Nevertheless for certain services such as counter, the department head may instruct the officers to start work at an appropriate time as required.

In line with the implementation of the FWH, the circular stated that the government would also allow its officers to reduce their lunch break to 30 minutes during Ramadan and leave the office 30 minutes earlier.

However, this flexibility is subject to the approval of their respective department head.

"FWH is allocated to federal public service officers who had previously adopted the SWH," according to the circular.



BERNAMA provides up-to-date authentic and comprehensive news and information which are disseminated via BERNAMA Wires;; BERNAMA TV on Astro 502, unifi TV 631 and MYTV 121 IFLIX channels and BERNAMA Radio on FM93.9 (Klang Valley), FM107.5 (Johor Bahru), FM107.9 (Kota Kinabalu) and FM100.9 (Kuching) frequencies.

Follow us on social media :
Facebook : @bernamaofficial, @bernamatv, @bernamaradio
Twitter :, @BernamaTV, @bernamaradio
Instagram : @bernamaofficial, @bernamatvofficial, @bernamaradioofficial
TikTok : @bernamaofficial

© 2024 BERNAMA   • Disclaimer   • Privacy Policy   • Security Policy