COVID–19 NEWS   S. Korean company Celltrion begins global COVID-19 antibody treatment supply | Employers can be penalised for stopping workers from self-quarantine | MMA suggests MOH to conduct mass COVID-19 test in HIDE's hotspot areas | TCM can help halve COVID-19 death rate: Report | Australian Health Minister outlines roadmap to reopen borders | 

Liew Chin Tong retains Johor DAP chairmanship

02/05/2021 09:30 PM

BATU PAHAT, May 2  -- Liew Chin Tong has retained the Johor DAP chairmanship for the fourth straight term following the party’s state convention here tonight.

The decision was announced by Convention Speaker and Rasah MP Cha Kee Chin after a closed-door meeting involving the 15 newly elected committee members.

Apart from Liew, Kulai MP Teo Nie Ching and Bekok state assemblyman Dr S. Ramakrishnan also retained their respective positions as deputy chairman and vice-chairman.

Paloh assemblyman Sheikh Umar Bagharib Ali who was previously the publicity secretary was appointed as the vice-chairman, while Stulang assemblyman Andrew Chen Kah Eng was announced as the new secretary, replacing Skudai assemblyman Tan Hong Pin, who also did not make it into the newly elected line-up.

The treasurer’s post was given to Penggaram assemblyman Gan Peck Cheng; organisation secretary (Kluang MP Wong Shu Qi), assistant organisation secretary (Ho Bao Kheong), publicity secretary (Johor Jaya assemblyman Liew Cai Tung), assistant publicity secretary (Marina Ibrahim) and state political education director (Senai assemblyman Alan Tee Boon Tsong).

Meanwhile, the ordinary committee members are Bakri MP Yeo Bee Yin, former Johor DAP chairman Boo Cheng Hau, Lim Eng Guan, Bentayan assemblyman Ng Yak Howe, Pekan Nanas assemblyman Yeo Tung Siong, Jementah assemblyman Tan Chen Choon and M. Kannan.

The committee also agreed to appoint Boon Sin Wei as the working secretary and Labis MP Pang Hok Liong as the legal bureau chief.

Meanwhile, the election also saw five women candidates garner high numbers of votes from the 1,024 delegates present, which saw all of them elected into the party’s new state leadership line-up, namely Yeo Bee Yin with 631 votes, Teo Nie Ching (577), Wong Shu Qi (555), Liow Cai Tung (553) and Gan Peck Cheng (539).




© 2021 BERNAMA   • Disclaimer   • Privacy Policy   • Security Policy